Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NABC Announces 2019 Division III Coach, Player of the Year

NABC Announces 2019 Division III Coach, Player of the Year

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced today that Matt Lewis of the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh has been selected as the recipient of the 2019 NABC Division III Coach of the Year Award presented by Wilson.


Augsburg University junior Booker Coplin, who finished second nationally in Division III scoring (28.0ppg), is the recipient of the 2019 NABC Division III Player of the Year Award powered by ShotTracker.


Allen and Coplin will receive their awards on Sunday, April 7, at the 2019 AT&T NABC Guardians of the Game awards show in Minneapolis.  The event begins at 6:30 p.m. CT in the Main Auditorium in the Minneapolis Convention Center during the NABC Convention and NCAA Men’s Final Four.


The show will be broadcast live on Stadium (


As the interim head coach of the Titans this season, Lewis guided his team to the NCAA Division III national championship with a 96-82 win over Swarthmore College in Fort Wayne, Ind. The NCAA title was the first ever for UW-Oshkosh in the 121-year history of the program.


The Titans’ top assistant coach for six seasons prior to his appointment as interim head coach for the 2018-19 season, Lewis’ team set program records with 29 wins, 2,715 points, 961 made field goals, 2,018 field goal attempts, 1,308 rebounds, 325 made 3-pointers, 866 3-point attempts, and 148 blocks.


Coplin, a 6-3 guard from Shakopee, Minn., finished second in NCAA Division III scoring this season with 784 points (28.0ppg) while setting Augsburg single season records in points, scoring average and three-point field goals. He topped his conference in rebounds (9.4rpg), field goals (276), steals (61), free throws (156) and free throw percentage (89.7%).